Do I want to allocate my storage capacity to something that is rarely, if ever, used? Not on your life; I have too many other demands on that capacity. Do I want to allocate my storage dollars to something that is rarely, if ever, used? Not when I can get gigabytes of slow cloud storage for pennies. In effect, cloud storage is my data archive.

Some people might question this decision. Don’t I worry about the security and protection of my data? I do worry about that, but not at all with a reputable, proven cloud provider. After all, they have to be at least as good as I am at data security and protection. Otherwise, their business model collapses. If I am honest with myself, I suspect that they are better at data protection and security than I am — they have to be.

I use cloud data storage to create internal capacity that I allocate to the services that my customers want the most: high-performance, on-demand access to the data they use the most. For everything else, I find someone who can do it cheaper and at least as well in the cloud.

From “Data storage strategy: Pre- and post-cloud computing” in TechTarget by Niel Nikolaisen

The records manager in my hates this article because he never gets to the point that some of those e-mails are transitory and have no value over 90 days. The information manager in me loves the fact that he dispels the myths of the cloud lacking security. The records manager in me is scared because I see a heightened risk of indictment from not disposing of ESI with little value. The information manager in me like the return on investment on saving money with cloud storage. This is why information governance is important and being able to see all perspectives.

