Social media is an interesting world. It can easily be a full time job if one wants it to be. I find it ironic that I blog about indexing information, but yet the indexing and categorization of content on this blog could use major improvement. It is ironic because part of my goal for this blog wasn’t only to keep up with the industry but to develop a professional view on social media, which unfortunately I don’t have the time to do. For example, I have a personal Twitter account that is different then the Info Currency Twitter account that acts as kind of a business case for how I would implement Twitter if I were CIO.

I say all of that to say, even though I have been blogging less in recent days, it has been a matter of strategic vision and making sure I am maximizing the channels of Twitter and LinkedIn. Everything I blog goes directly to Twitter and LinkedIn, so my goal is to never post something to Twitter or LinkedIn and then blog it with the goal of avoiding redundant postings.

Even though I have been blogging less I have been posting in Twitter and LinkedIn. Hopefully we have already connected there already, but if not please do so we can continue the conversation there. Here are a couple of highlights of things that I’ve posted in those other social media context:

“Businesses need to develop Big Data as a framework, rather than a technology or point-fix,” from “A to B of Big Data” by Dave Jones. This is AIIM’s newest Toolkit on Big Data and it gives a bigger picture of big data as well as actionable and achievable advice to develop your own big data initiative. This toolkit is free to AIIM members and becoming a member is an investment I’d highly recommend.

“The biggest risk from poor information governance is considered to be increased litigation costs and damages. Reduction in storage costs is considered to be the biggest benefit – followed closely by exploitation and sharing of knowledge resources, and faster response to events,” from a new Industry Watch report from AIIM entitled, “Information Governance – records, risks and retention in the litigation age.” This is free to download and if it wasn’t free AIIM could probably charge money for it, that is how comprehensive and thorough the information it is. It covers the whole spectrum of the changing information governance landscape from cloud to automated classification and spending plans.

“Analytics is fairly new to sports but is nothing new to business. With today’s technology, vast amounts of data is analyzed by increasingly more powerful computers to predict success rates for game strategies, a player’s potential for success, betting, or marketing a team,” in Sports Analytics: How ‘Moneyball’ meets big data,” by Andy Smith. With opening day almost upon us, it is hard to neglect an article on business intelligence/analytics and sports.

If you are reading this and have a moment, I’d love to hear from you and about what you are reading and learning.

