The following is a comment that I received from “State of North Carolina – Social Media Archive” on my post “Hurdles, Solutions and Real Life Examples of Records Management for Social Media.”

It is critical to also think about retrieval and usage of the data. Social media introduces a number of complexities due to its rich and interactive nature, as well as the fact that none of the data formats are standardized, and they continue to change.

In the archiving world, we often focus too much on just the storage of the data. We also need to think deeply about how we manage, access, and work with the data once it has been stored. Otherwise, it defeats the purpose.

I am so thankful for this comment and the feedback provided. On any topic I post on, I do not claim to be the authority so comments like this are invaluable. Please feel free to either add your comment here or on the original post with your thoughts to enrich the conversation. My vision is for this blog to be an exchange of ideas on trends and practices in the information management industry.

