First of all, I am not a Turbo Tax user and this post is not meant as an endorsement of Turbo Tax. Needless to say, while driving into work I heard an ad for Turbo Tax that really impressed me with their service. A practice that I learned about while studying for the Certified Information Professional exam from the Association of Information and Image Management is that of mobile capture. To put into practice when I need to submit a receipt or other documentation to a company electronically instead of scanning it I will take a photo with my phone and email it from their.

Combining mobile capture with forms processing, via OCR, Turbo Tax has come up with a simplistic and innovative way for users to file their W-2’s with their phones. The ABBYY FlexiCapture Engine uses OCR to allows users to take a picture of their W-2 and it automatically populates the 1040EZ form for them. Here is an article from ABBYY with more details: “ABBYY FlexiCapture Engine Makes Tax Time, Relax Time.”

I’ve actually been thinking about this type of functionality with the arduous product registration process that many companies have. It seems simple enough that instead of sending in a bar code, I should be able to take a picture of it and then upload it to a company’s website for my product registration.

